Zur Übersicht

Thalia

The Immortalists (Penguin LCC US)

15,99 €
inkl. gesetzl. Mwst.
Nur noch wenige verfügbar

Produktbeschreibung

Artikelnummer: 9780735218406

A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR:  Washington Post  & #8226   NPR  & #8226   Entertainment Weekly  & #8226   Real Simple  & #8226   Marie Claire  & #8226   New York Public Library  & #8226   LibraryReads  & #8226   The Skimm  & #8226   Lit Hub  & #8226   Lit Reactor  AN INSTANT  NEW YORK TIMES  BESTSELLER & #8220 A captivating family saga.& #8221 & #8212 The  New York Times Book Review & #8220 This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.& #8221 & #8212 People Magazine (Book of the Week) If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life? It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children& #8212 four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness& #8212 sneak out to hear their fortunes. The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11 and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality. A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

Person Chloe Benjamin
Genre Fremdsprachig
Einband Taschenbuch
ISBN 978-0-7352-1840-6
Abmessungen (B/H/T) 228x151x27mm
Gewicht 424 g